Our cookies

We use cookies, which are small text files, to improve your experience on our website.
You can allow or reject non essential cookies or manage them individually.

Manage cookiesAllow all

Our cookies

Allow all

We use cookies, which are small text files, to improve your experience on our website. You can allow all or manage them individually.

You can find out more on our cookie page at any time.

EssentialThese cookies are needed for essential functions such as logging in and making payments. Standard cookies can't be switched off and they don't store any of your information.
AnalyticsThese cookies help us collect information such as how many people are using our site or which pages are popular to help us improve customer experience. Switching off these cookies will reduce our ability to gather information to improve the experience.
FunctionalThese cookies are related to features that make your experience better. They enable basic functions such as social media sharing. Switching off these cookies will mean that areas of our website can't work properly.

Save preferences


The White Ensign Association is a Registered Charity administered by limited guarantee.

The organisation is run by a small executive Staff operating from offices on board HMS Belfast in the Pool of London. The staff visit Royal Navy and Royal Marines establishments and units throughout the United Kingdom on a regular basis to provide support, guidance and advice in the form of Lectures and personal interviews.

Strategic direction of the work of The White Ensign Association is carried out by the Chairman and Council of Management.

The staff work in close consultation with a panel of selected professional Advisors.

Patron: His Majesty King Charles III

President: Admiral Sir Jock Slater GCB LVO DL

Chairman: Hon. Captain L H L Batchelor RNR

Vice Chairman: Admiral Sir Philip Jones GCB DL

Council of Management

Mr E W Byers
Ms R Cairnie
Lieutenant General E G M Davis CB CBE
Mrs H Deeble CBE
Commodore R W Dorey RFA
Mr T Ellison
Hon Captain A P Gosling RNR
Hon C Haughy KC OBE
Commodore I Kennedy CBE QHNS
Mr J M R Saunders Watson 
Mr H Theochari OBE
Admiral Sir George Zambellas GCB DSC DL

Vice Presidents

Mr J D Andrewes
Admiral Sir Jonathon Band GCB DL
Sir Michael Bett CBE
The Rt Hon Lord Carlile of Berriew CBE KC
Mr C J Cazalet
Vice Admiral Sir Adrian Johns KCB CBE DL
Admiral Sir Michael Layard KCB CBE
Sir John Parker GBE
Sir Patrick Sergeant
Admiral Sir Mark Stanhope GCB OBE DL
Mr R J Taylor